Tracker

GUITAR LINK UCG102 Reviews

UCG102

UCG102

The Ultimate Guitar-to-USB Interface for Recording and Jamming with your PC/Mac or iOS device

GUITAR LINK UCG102 Reviews

3.2/5.0 based on 304 customer reviews

  • from Sean Palmeter
    July 29, 2013

    This item has not gotten the overall review that it deserves

    At first, I was very skeptical of this product because it had a lot of 1 star reviews associated with it. I took it upon myself to buy it based on the what the 5 star reviews said, and I was not disappointed at all. In order for this product to do what you need it to, you must read the directions! It is not as simple as "plug and play". You must have other software on your computer, like guitar rig for example, in order to take full advantage of a product such as this. This item is simple a piece of hardware that adds a line-in port that is commonly found on many desktop motherboards, but is lacking on many laptops. Within 5 minutes of unpacking, I was using this usb device with guitar rig and getting beautiful, very-low latency tones, even on a laptop. Keep in mind if this is plugged in, your integrated speakers probably won't work as sound is being managed by the usb device. This is completely normal and I know this because I have done the same thing with the ASIO driver on my desktop computer. If you want to here the sound you are playing, the speakers have to be connected to the usb device in the other port labeled with the phones icon. Pros: -Adds the equivalent of a line-in connection and corresponding headphones connection that you can plug your guitar and speakers into for playing/recording. Cons: -I was lucky to have a 1/4 to 1/8 inch adapter for headphones... while guitars are standard in 1/4 inch audio cables, most speakers and headphones are not. Pick up a headphone adapter (which is not included) or you will be making a trip to your local hardware store for one when you open the package. Advice: I would recommend downloading the latest ASIO driver from the website. I didn't even use the one that came with the device, I directly downloaded the latest ASIO driver and had zero problems when connecting the usb device. People were complaining about this working with 64 bit operating systems.... I had no such problems. Make sure you have a 64 bit driver if you have a 64 bit system, which is provided by ASIO. I am currently using ASIO4All version 2.10 english, and it's working great.

  • from Haomu Z.
    April 13, 2016

    ... never tried the software but I heard it is crap. I used the link to record my guitar ...

    My laptop doesn't have a place to put in the disk so I never tried the software but I heard it is crap. I used the link to record my guitar via Adobe Audition and FL Studio and that works great!

  • from Fritzio
    August 21, 2014

    No problems

    Works perfectly with any guitar (of mine) on my mac running GarageBand.

  • from Jordan Cyr
    April 28, 2013

    Works wonderfully

    You have to have some level of technical understanding in order to use it. But it does work. even with Adobe audition.

  • from Eduardo
    January 15, 2015

    is a very good device to start

    If just begin in music and wanted to record, is a very good device to start.

  • from DocJaco
    March 03, 2015

    great for demos or home use

    Really handy and easy. I've used it to record a multitude of songs, with both guitars and keyboard lines. Not professional quality, but for home use/demo production it is great

  • from Jonathan B.
    December 31, 2011

    Plug, Play, Rock

    Plugged this into my Mac Pro, then into my Epiphone LP-100. Using AmpliTube 3 & passing through to my Creative X-Fi soundcard. Works like a charm. Didn't bother with the included software as it appears to be junk. Device also works well in Garageband & Guitar Rig 4. A great part if you want to tinker with recording or modeling on a PC. Forget the pack in software, get AmpliTube.

  • from Mark E. Peres
    August 23, 2010

    Device is awesome, software is "meh"

    I love this device (5 Stars)! Small, simple, easy to install, sounds great. Not impressed with the free software (3 Stars) I loaded the software on both a Mac OSX 10.6 and a PC Win 7 Ultimate, plugged in the guitar and headphones, selected the input spource and output channel (This is a system configuration thing, very easy to d0), and started playing. No issues at all. Great sound, no lagging. I did find that on the Mac I prefered Garage Band over the iAxe Vol 2.1 software that came with the device. For the serious artist using a PC I would try Pro Tools [...] If you are looking for an inexpensive way to practice without an amp this device rocks! Perfect for a dorm or apartment where you don't want to bother others. The device alone is worth the 5 stars

  • from Your typically honest fellow
    May 16, 2014

    Very reliable device

    I am on windows 7 x64 and pretty tech savvy, so the 64 bit driver installation wasn't hard but if you aren't tech savvy, get someone to help you install the 64 bit driver if you're on windows 7. My guitar produces feedback on all setups, needs some soldering work done, and as expected, slight feedback was heard on this device. But nothing compared to the other USBs I've had, which is exactly why I bought this. Less feedback, more clear sound. Go for this one, VERY high quality and reliable.

  • from Marvin
    September 10, 2011

    Awesome Product for the price

    Simple interface and amazing performance,records well and can be used with multiple effects softwares. Software supplied is gr8 too, cant believe all this for a low price. Use it with my Bass and am quite satisfied!

Submit your review

characters left.