Tracker

U-PHORIA UMC404HD Reviews

UMC404HD

UMC404HD

Audiophile 4x4, 24-Bit/192 kHz USB Audio/MIDI Interface with MIDAS Mic Preamplifiers

U-PHORIA UMC404HD Reviews

4.7/5.0 based on 34 customer reviews

  • from pym
    July 14, 2016

    Yes it can cheaply record 4 Channels at once into you computer.

    Great for the price. No documentation to speak of. No manual , just a quick start guide. Most of which is just pictures saying what the button or jack is for. The web site doesn't have a manual either. If your lost, search the web for the control/jack name. The controls and jacks work about the same as all the other USB audio interfaces by other brands. But for the price is a great unit. 1/2 the price of anything else that will input 4 channels and does have effect sends too. If you need to cheaply record 4 Channel audio into you computer at the same time this is the one to get. Using it to capture my old tapes from my Tascam 424 portastudio 4 track to the computer. Works fine to cap 4 tracks at once into Sound Forge, Also works as a 4 channel sound card. Works good with guitar direct in and can overdrive my Strat a little with the preamp. Strangely I kind of like the sound. I tried as a preamp to Rocksmith, but had a problem with it blending the output of the computer with the incoming guitar. You probably need to use an adapter on the effect send for the guitar to the rocksmith cable. Sorry no mike to review those inputs at this time. Haven't hooked up the midi either yet. I'll review later as I use it for more things.

  • from Mr Computer Nerd Musician Guy
    June 05, 2016

    Surprisingly Impressive.

    I've gone through many recording interfaces in my time. Certain models stop being supported and you end up with a graveyard of USB interfaces over the years. I'm really glad i got this one. For under 100 bucks, i can record 4 channels at once, works perfect on both my Mac Mini and Windows 10 machines alike. Craftsmanship is good. Knobs feel good. I would have accepted it if there was some cheapness, considering the price, but this is a totally legit unit. Unless i find out a month from now that it magically dies on it's own, I see no reason to spend more money on any other interface unless you need more than 4 channels. This unit has dedicated outs per channel too! So besides the main outs, you can get a separate out per channel. That's uncommon in "cheaper" class units, so i was surprised by that. It's great to send mics and lines to this first, and use the outs on the back of the unit to send the signals through monitoring, additional processing, etc. In the past I would use a Patch bay to achieve the same thing, so I was able to minimize my set up by adding this unit to my studio.

  • from Howard L.
    February 20, 2016

    So far so good... Works great...

    So far I am very impressed. I even got it to work with Audacity to record 4 separate channels simultaneously! Am using it with the Tracktion software that came with it also, and it's pretty easy to use. Haven't done too much with it, but it's quiet, has low latency and works as well or better than I would have expected. No manual is available, just quick setup guide. Need to download drivers from the web, but it's easy. Am using Windows 10 with no problems.

  • from john
    March 25, 2016

    WOW, I'm blown away, and for little bucks!

    For this price, this unit is unbelievable. The manual for this is skimpy, but gives you enough basics for those not too familiar with mixers or other audio devices to get it up and going. You must download the drivers, but that went without a hiccup. Has a lot a features, phantom power on all four inputs, multipin connectors for mic, line and instruments.Midi in and out on the back. 4 Insert in/outs, 4 main outs (bal/unbal), 4 record outs, phone jack and RCA. back on the front has 4 volume controls and green and red (clip) led's. It feels like a sturdy metal box and is well laid out. It is small but every square inch is utilized. Looks very professional, not toyish or like a car battery charger. I use a 64 computer with 8 g ram. The preamps are very clean and quite. Better than the pre's on my Mackie 1604 vlz board. The UMC driver control is simple, 4 volume controls and a master volume. Seems to work the best with them set near the top. I like that it has 192 khz sample rate. The sound is great at 96 khz, but the latency drops tremendously at 192 khz, about half. The free Traction DAW offered wouldn't wouldn't load with either of my 64 bit computers, but worked with my old 32 bit windows XP. So I scrapped that. It married up nicely to Reaper, and off I went. Reaper is a great, simple, powerful DAW. I've since moved up to Mixcraft Pro 7. Again, great results. This unit is practically a plug and play. Other than occasionally adjusting the gain knobs when I see the clip light blinking, it just sits there and does it's job. With my usual buffer settings I get 10 mil sec of latency delay. That's round trip latency. I can easily live with that. There is no noticeable latency on input. I'm driving my CPU at around 30% with the Pro 7 DAW. With the Reaper about 15%. There are no pops or glicks, and if it happens I'll adjust the buffer accordingly. I plan to move up to more channels soon, but until then this little thing works great. And what really blows me away is that it cost less than most of my stomp boxes. PS: The drivers are ASIO

  • from Idontknowjack
    July 18, 2016

    It did a great job. Bought this to move to a 4 ...

    I had a Focusrite Scarlett 2i interface. It did a great job. Bought this to move to a 4 channel interface. I just do a little home recording here-and-there, usually acoustic guitar and vocal. On rare occasions I wanted to bring in a 3rd or 4th signal and keep it separate -- not mixed in to the other channels. Now I can do that. I bring 4 signals into Garageband, keep them on separate tracks. And I think it's just as clean and quiet as the Focusrite was. For the money, I think the Behringer gear is great.

  • from brettwestgrovemusic
    March 01, 2016

    Best value in it's class - In depth review

    ----------------OVERVIEW---------------- PROS • (4) great MIDAS design preamps with XLR/TRS combo jack for mic/line/inst signals • Pad for each preamp • Very small footprint • Dual monitor output with A/B and mono switches • Can be powered from the USB bus CONS • Single phantom power switch for all channels (all 4 on or off) – be careful with mixed sources (ribbon mics, acoustic guitar pickups, etc)! • No internal effects for use during low latency monitoring ----------------Value Rating: HIGH---------------- First off, the value of this interface is FANTASTIC if you simply need a no-frills interface with four preamps. I’ve done direct comparisons with other USB devices, with four preamps, (main example being the Focusrite 18i8). For several hundred dollars less the Behringer UMC404HD provides: • A set of preamps that, according to a few recording tests I’ve done, sound EXTREMELY similar to competitors - (my YouTube channel, B6Music, will have video reviews and product comparisons showing this soon) • A much smaller footprint And you’ll only sacrifice a few features, which I did not find worth $200+ plus more dollars. Those included: • Expandability using ADAT and/or SPDIF connections • DSP for effects during low-latency monitoring • A second headphone out with separate gain (but 4 of these can be added for as low as $20 via a headphone amp) ----------------Sound---------------- As stated above, the preamps definitely give more expensive competitors a run for their money. There were very little discernable differences (audibly and visually, using frequency analysis software). Preamps offer plenty of gain and are warm, smooth clean, etc. The phantom power works as it should, although, there is but a single switch which means additional gear may be required if you are mixing sound sources that don’t play well with phantom power. MIDI I/O is basic with a single 5-din connector for both in and out (ie: 16 channels in, 16 channels out). ----------------Usability---------------- Usability is great. All jacks, knobs and buttons and located fine and use is intuitive. The device is MAC and PC compatible and will work with most any DAW. I have been using this with MAC OSX El Capitan 10.11.1 and Logic Pro X. It has been flawless and requires no drivers or downloads. I have not personally used this on Windows but I know they advertise compatibility and the device will work with most current versions by downloading drivers from Behringer’s website. Another GREAT feature, which is not common on interfaces with this many preamps, is that it can be bus powered. That means, if you are mobile and don’t have a place to plug in the AC adapter (included) you can power the interface from your laptop. ----------------Build---------------- All of the gain and volume knobs feel great. They operate smooth and feel very stable. The construction is small and, overall, the build and finish quality is great. I have no complaints about any of the jacks, buttons, knobs, LEDs, etc… Included In the box you’ll get: • UMC404HD interface • AC Adapter • USB Cable • Documentation And as download (I did not use the downloads and there is not much in the documentation about what is included) you can get: • Audio recording, editing, podcasting software • 150 instrument/effect plug-ins ----------------Conclusion---------------- If you just need a couple extra preamps, vs other inexpensive interfaces which usually only have two, the Behringer UMC404HD is a fantastic choice. Although you sacrifice a few features, I’d use this interface, to save a few bucks for other gear, over most other options in the sub-$400 range – beyond that I’d step up to a bigger 8-preamp unit. It’s fantastic for small studio setups and for a mobile rig.

  • from Ken Thompson
    June 21, 2016

    Five Stars

    It met all my needs

  • from AGamer
    March 14, 2016

    Five Stars

    Awesome

  • from Partsgal
    December 27, 2015

    Five Stars

    Christmas gift. Exactly what my son wanted!

  • from Amazon Customer
    June 25, 2016

    Five Stars

    For the price and quality

Submit your review

characters left.