Tracker

XENYX UFX1204 Reviews

UFX1204

UFX1204

Premium 12-Input 4-Bus Mixer with 16x4 USB/FireWire Interface, 16-Track USB Recorder, XENYX Mic Preamps & Compressors, British EQs and Multi-FX Processor

XENYX UFX1204 Reviews

3.8/5.0 based on 15 customer reviews

Reviews from the Press based on 1 reviews

  • from Amazon Customer
    August 01, 2016

    Nice product

    Item has been delivered in excellent condition. Mixer works like a charm. Behringer did a good job packing this many features for a decent price, though having more detailed user manual would be quite handy. I did try most of the features including multi-track recording (through USB port only yet). Product meets my expectations. Thanks Behringer for a great product, and Thanks Amazon for delivering it.

  • from Cláudio Gonçalves
    November 14, 2015

    A bang for the buck

    A bang for the buck. Perfect for intro level. Nice quality, specs as stated, smooth 12 channel connection to sound card. Lacks overdrive/distortion fx.

  • from BARNABE SANTOS
    October 20, 2014

    WELL THIS IS COOL, I BOUGHT THE UFX 1204 FROM AMAZON AND ...

    WELL THIS IS COOL ,I BOUGHT THE UFX 1204 FROM AMAZON AND LESS THAN FEW DAYS IT CAME YOU GUYS ARE AWSOME TKS AMAZON ,NOW THE MIXER IS REALLY COOL I LOVE IT, ALL I HAVE TO DO WAS DOWNLOAD THE USB AND FIREWIRE DRIVERS SUPPORT AND INSTALL THAT ON MY COMPUTER AND EVERYTHING WORKS GREAT,I TRY THE USB ON MY LAPTOP IT WORKS AND THEN I TRY THE FIREWIRE ON MY DESKTOP IT WORKS SO AM HAPPY WITH IT AND ALSO I INSERT MY USB DRIVE AT THE BACK OF THE MIXER THEN SWITCH TO USB , EVERYTHING RECORD ON MY USB, IT TAKE ABOUT 2 MINUTES FOR THE MIXER TO READ AND RESET ITSELF FOR RECORDING , IT WORKS FOR ME THANKS BEHRINGER AND THANKS AMAZONE.

  • from Steve Peters
    October 03, 2014

    No problems, works well

    I have used this mixer about a dozen times, each without trouble or problem. I have not used the USB functionality as much as I thought I would, but it's nice to have. The preamps are good, and the visual feedback on each channel and on the mix are helpful in such a low priced unit. The sound quality is very good AFAICT.

  • from Tom Kovach
    January 16, 2015

    Nice piece

    I've just started using this for my voice overs video traing and it works great. I've only used to the system connected to Soundbooth with no complaints. The sound quality is just what I need. I had a little issue getting the recorded sound to come back through the headphones. There is limited information in the manual; however I called Sweetwater support and bam a few buttons later I was ready to go.

  • from Customer
    October 24, 2015

    FANTASTIC, Solidly Featured Mixer

    I bought this mixer as an upgrade to the Mackie ProFX8 - I found the 2-track recording on the Mackie limiting at times. I debated whether to keep the Mackie and get a separate multitrack recording interface, but them I came across this mixer. I was more than impressed by it's true multitrack recording capability in both USB and FireWire formats, and for the recording input / price ratio, it just can't be beat. The mixer is loaded with features seldom found on mixers of this size, let alone price point (I'm a HUGE fan of the LED metering per channel - it's been super helpful to reference levels from and almost always is only found on larger format mixers). I also love all of the routing options, with the ability to bring back 4 tracks from my DAW either into the last 2 channels, or straight into the main mix. The sound quality is top notch, super clean and detailed both for recording and playback. Perhaps one of the most impressive features of the mixer for me was the quality of the preamps - they ROCK! I couldn't believe how deliciously quiet they were and how clean they sound. These pre's will make any microphone or source sound fantastic. Overall the build quality is very good, I never feel that any part of the mixer is particularly fragile, and all the knobs have a good-feeling smooth resistance to them. I also like the separate indicators (red and yellow respectively) for Mute and Solo on each channel, one thing that's somewhat bothered me about Behringer mixers in the past. Though there is a lack of detailed documentation / manuals to explain the more obscure features of the mixer (like the quirky Alt 3-4 "subgroup"), the support people at Behringer are extremely helpful and will answer any questions about the features of the mixer. One thing I noticed, though not a bad thing per se, is that at least for my set up, the UFX1204 doesn't play nicely with the ASIO4ALL driver that I use for other interfaces I have. In my DAW, I need to exclusively use the proprietary Behringer UFX driver to get this board to work. So I can only use this board and no other interfaces, or my other interfaces and not this board. Not a big deal for me, but something to note. Also, Maybe it's just my particular setup / computer, but I could not get the FireWire connection to work on my PC. FW works great on my Mac, but not on my PC. Overall I think this mixer is an absolutely wonderful product and I couldn't be happier with it so far. Definitely worth every penny. If you're looking for a fully featured small format true multitrack recording mixer, this is the ticket.

  • from Mike
    April 10, 2015

    Great mixer for a GREAT price.

    I really like this mixer. Behringer has stepped up their game recently, and here, they made an awesome product. There's so much functionality at a low price-point, you just can't beat it! I had purchased a Mackie Pro-FX12 -- I returned it to try this one out. The mackie is also a great mixer, but I was looking for something that would be have multi-track simultaneous recording via USB. An added perk on this board is FireWire connectivity. I specifically like that one can send audio from an input (for instance, a laptop) via USB to the mixer and listen that way. I have the mixer hooked up to my studio monitors and it sounds great. I think the main difference between this board and Mackie would be build quality. I find the Behringer to be of good quality, but the Mackie just felt sturdier to me (just my opinion). Behringer looks great, sounds great, and does everything I need it to. If you're looking for something simple that operates as a mixer and allows multi-track recording, this is a great option. Don't hesitate to buy this!

  • from Larry Cunningham
    October 28, 2014

    Very flexible mixer/interface

    Very quiet Pre's, I've recorded using Firewire, USB and an external hard drive with very good results. It will record up to 15 tracks individually with some configuration using AUX returns sent to track 13 and 15/16. Kind of tricky, but functional. One thing I don't like is the Pre/Post buttons on tracks switch just the EQ to Pre/Post. All FW/USB routing is pre-fader, pre-pan. Problem with that is, you can't balance (pan) L-R stereo channels when recording. So, if left channel is overloading and the right channel is a low signal, sweeping Pan control has no affect on levels to L or R side of stereo input. Having the Pre/Post switch is nice, but it would have been nice to place the 'Post' setting to be post fader/EQ/pan so you can control the L-R balance on stereo channels. Otherwise, it's pretty darn cool little mixer. We did a 15 channel recording at church, taking direct outs off Soundcraft console, and recorded to Logic Pro. Worked great accept for stereo inputs being out of balance level-wise. Made some adjustments on source console, but it would have been nice to be able to adjust directly on this console. Unfortunately, the user guides are very basic and semi-informative.

  • from Dee Cronk
    November 07, 2013

    Audio Visual Tech

    the center lines on the slides could be better defined, and the instruction should eb writen better, Otherwise good!

  • from Chris Mammenga
    October 16, 2014

    Good Mixer for recording but not so much for live or beginners

    I've had this mixer for about a year now and the convenience of not having to use a computer to track record is awesome. It's helped so much to just be able to plug in the hard drive and then download each track later without worrying about how the mix is affected by what's happening live in the mains or monitors. That said, the instructions that come with it are negligible at best and you can't find anything other than reviews online for it. I still haven't figured out how the alt 3-4 channels work and only recently figured out how to get the headphone jacks to work. It's got a built in talk-back which is cool, no extra cables or amps required you just select where you want the talkback to go and go for it. Also, this is really only an eight channel mixer when it comes to playing live. You can run stereo on the last four channels but only a single instrument, so if you have more than a four piece or need to mic drums you'll need another board and if you use a snake you'll have to adapt all but four of your connections to TRS connectors. It does a full 16 separate tracks for recording though and that rocks. It even does a separate track of your live and monitor mix so if you just want the raw mix it's there. I'm probably going to try the 1604 which has a full eight XLR inputs and three aux sends. All in all its a great little board I just wish they would have given me more instructions explaining how to utilize all the functions. I'll have to call Sweetwater's awesome techs.

Reviews from the Press

Test: Behringer Xenyx UFX1204-...

Submit your review

characters left.