X32 Reviews

X32

X32

40-Input, 25-Bus Digital Mixing Console with 32 Programmable MIDAS Preamps, 25 Motorized Faders, Channel LCD's, 32-Channel Audio Interface and iPad/iPhone* Remote Control

X32 Reviews

4.6/5.0 based on 112 customer reviews

Reviews from the Press based on 21 reviews

  • from Alejandra
    September 27, 2016

    Behringer X32 And Midas PRO 1 Mic Preamp Integration

    TBH I love this mixer but I am wondering and questioning if you could connect a Midas DL32 or DL151 digital snake Via AES50 and use the actual famous Midas sounding preamps rather than the X32s Pres, since this console and the Midas M32 share the same software it technically should work. the preamps are decent enough in the x32 however they start to sounding boring after many shows and are easily beaten by other pro mixers (venue SC48) and i would like to use the midas preamps to upgrade my sound quality but i havent tested this yet but if it does this would raise the game for the x32s since the M32 pres are the same ones found in the PRO 1 and PRO 2 series consoles from Midas which are very professional touring grade mixing boards. BTW Midas and Behringer are collaborated together so i would think that this would be an awesome integration for x32 user as it will result in higher sounding quality yet with the flexiblity and routing options that the X32 provides.

  • from Whole Hearted Productions
    August 22, 2012

    Amazing package for the price!

    1/12/2015 Update: I have owned an X32 for almost a year now and have also used other people's X32s. Here is what I REALLY like and find to be very useful. 1. The DCAs and ease of setting them up. I usually set up my drums, bass and stereo Keyboards on channels 17-32 and run them on separate DCAs so I don't have to flip between the two very often. I recently ran a 28 channel concert using mostly the DCAs. 2. Effects. Effects are pretty easy to use but you have to think of the board in the same way as an analog board to figure out how to set them up. 3. Quick control panel. I use these to control the effects with great results. 4. 6 band Parametric EQs on all outgoing mix busses (including the mains). 5. Built-in RTAs on every EQ. 7. Scribble strips!!! How do people live without these wonders?!?!? What I am NOT crazy about. Very little actually. With that said (and this might be improved on the M32--I have not had a chance to play with that board), I sometimes find the sound to be a bit "dull." While EQ can fix a multitude of sins, there is something that I often run into that almost seems like a "board" sound (which is thankfully NOT a Peavey!). I regularly mix on a Yamaha LS9 and I also own a Presonus 16.4.2 and I would consider both of those boards to have brighter, and possibly cleaner preamps. In a live setting, most of this can be overcome by using enough EQ in all the right places, but I would potentially consider upgrading to the M32 if I were to use the board for a lot of digital recording. But part of that depends upon your taste and how handy you are at "fixing" things after the fact. Bottom line? For the money, there are no other soundboards that come anywhere CLOSE to the functionality and features of the X32. I recently had the opportunity to play around with an $80,000 digital Soundcraft, and my reaction was that I very much wanted to go back to the ease of use, the effective mixing power, and even the sound of the X32... even without considering the fact that the X32 cost less then 10% of the Soundcraft. ________________________ Original Review I have not yet had the privilege of using this in real life, but I was able to get a hands on experience on a display model at Guitar Center. The first hint that I had stumbled upon something that was more than a typical Behringer was the subtitle "Powered by Midas." The first time I was introduced to Midas was reading about the Midas XL4, the creme de la creme $100,000 board from the mid 1990's. Fortunately the price of technology has come down since then! The first thing that impressed me was the solid but light build of this board. Considering how it is constructed, and what is in it, it is relatively light, and the well-placed handles on the sides (Where the headphone jacks are also protected) make the board very easy to move. The next thing I noticed was that this board was NOT for the faint of heart! If you know a fair bit of sound, you will be astonished by the capabilities of this board (which frankly blow the comparably priced Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2 out of the water). But some of the features take some getting used to, especially where they are located. The closest board I could think of comparing this to in terms of capabilities is the nearly $30,000 32 channel Yamaha M7CL or possibly the $12K LS9, although this board does not have a touch screen-- oh, and it costs less than a Presonus 24.4.2 at less than $3K! I love the fact that this board can use buses for monitors, groups for adding effects to an overall group (such as compression on the Drums) or as a monitor feed (such as the entire drum mix as channel to the built in 16 channel Behringner ethernet personal monitor system), and it also has Matrix capabilities which include delay capabilities so you can time align your subs with your mains or your mains with additional fills. In addition, and this REALLY sets it apart form any competition in this price range, it has an 8 channel DCA. The monitor sends can be adjusted from the channel strip (although it can require an extra button push depending upon which send you are trying to adjust). Alternatively, but selecting the send master fader and then pressing the "sends on faders" button, you can adjust the entire mix for a send using the channel sliders. In addition, this board has 6 dedicated Mute groups in addition to additional programmable knobs (with their own scribble strips) and buttons. The effects capabilities are impressive. Every Channel has a 4 band fully parametric EQ plus an adjustable high pass filter, phase and phantom power. The gate and Dynamics sections are fully capable with not only typical adjustments such as Threshold and ratio, attack and release times, but it also includes feature such as frequency selectable ducking and adjustable knees. There are a total of 8 stereo effects inserts which can be placed anywhere you want including eqs (which can be stereo or dual mono), reverbs, delays, etc. Again, the routing of signals to these processors is so capable that it is not necessarily for the faint of heart. It is MUCH more flexible than the Presonus 24.4.2, but not nearly as intuitive, being much more akin to the Yamaha M7CL. The ins and outs of this board make an M7CL blush! Without the need to buy any additional cards, this board has 32 real preamps (designed by Midas) as well as 16 XLR outs (which can be assigned however you would like). In addition, it also has 6 more TRS ins and outs for Aux sends and returns--which can be assigned to any channel you would like as well! Aux 5 and 6 can be either TRS or RCA. Behringer has their own proprietary monitor system built in (equivalent to the inclusion of a 16 channel Aviom card), as well as two 48 channel I/O ports on Klark Tecnic's ethernet protocal called SuperMAC 50. So you could have a digital snake on Ethernet (with preamps controlled from the X32) going to an on stage monitor board and an ethernet cable going from Port B of the Monitor Board to Port A of the FOH board. All 32 channels can take inputs from any of these sources and likewise, outputs can be assigned anywhere as well. But what is VERY cool is the fact that this board can be used to make a 32 channel recording at the same time as you mix your live concert with 32 channels of I/O on either Fireire OR USB. For those with PC's that don't like Firewire, you will know how cool that is! The X32 can also be used as a very capable control surface for your DAW with flying faders and scribble strips (although it does not have any transport controls). From my brief observation, an initial setup could take awhile just because there are so many variables available and maneuvering to those variables takes a bit of getting used to. The fact that the variable knobs under the screen are also push buttons is a helpful but not initially obvious tip. However, with extensive library capabilities, this could be effectively used at a church once the initial setup is done with multiple services being able to be stored and individual channel settings being stored for each musician to e recalled the next time that musician participates. Also the color coded scribble strip is a feature that not even the M7CL has fully implemented, but it would take some effort to get it set up the first time. As I have said, I have not yet heard the X32 and cannot vouch for its durability (although I will say that it feels very solidly built), but the fact that Midas was willing to attach its name to the console is saying a lot! For this price point, there is absolultely NOTHING that comes anywhere close to this board. But as I have said, the Presonus still has it's advantages... namely, there is less board there and everything is much closer to the surface with few button pushes required to accomplish your task in a live situation.

  • from CJ
    January 29, 2013

    Great for church use

    We bought this for our church. I was extremely hesitant to even consider a Behringer product because their products have been incredibly poor quality in the past. With the purchase of Midas and Klark Teknik, and non-stop marketing of how much they've spent on Quality Control and whatnot, I decided to give them another chance. So far I must say that I'm extremely impressed. As long as the board hold up in the long run, I'd say I'm completely sold. I think the thing I like most about this board is the ease of use especially in a church situation where you may have volunteers and not necessarily fully professionally trained sound techs. Granted, an analog to digital transition still takes some significant training but you can minimize the shock of it and even "automate" your sound man. Here's a few things that makes life easier specifically for this scenario. 1. The Scribble Strips are awesome. You can change the color so that all vocalists are blue and guitars are green, etc. This gives an extreme amount of visual feedback on your mix. How often do we pull out the masking tape or get those magnetic strips to try and keep track of our mixes. This is especially good in a church situation where your worship team may be different individuals from week to week. 2. The PC app is awesome. I haven't tried the iPad app yet but I was able to completely configure the board from the PC and just load the values to the board. That's great if you are a volunteer rather than paid staff and don't want to have to physically be at the church to do changes to the board. You can even set many specifics for changing vocalists or musicians if you know who is playing that week all from home and then just load it up. 3. This is more just digital in general, but being able to save channel presets is amazing. I can finely EQ our various vocalists and save their settings to the board. Then the sound tech can just pull up the preset and it automatically puts that persons name on the Scribble Strip, EQ's their voice and applies any other specific settings. This way if you have a volunteer who may not be great at the finer points of sound, you can set a quality EQ right off the bat and not worry whether it's going to sound good. 4. This also applies to scenes. You can get a perfect mix in practice and then just cycle scenes for a new lead vocalist or other change of mix. 5. The integration with their P16 personal mixers means the FoH guy is not also mixing monitors. All he has to focus on is whether it sounds good to the congregation. These types of things have made my (volunteer) job as the head over sound much easier. I have some guys who are professional sound engineers and others who just want to help out. This allows me to easily accommodate both types of volunteers. Beyond this specific scenario, I've just been generally impressed with the board. As long as Behringer keeps their promise on Quality Control, I can't give this less than a 5 star. You just can't beat the price for what you get.

  • from Aaorns Beard
    October 11, 2012

    Fantastic Audio Quality, Features, and Performance. Unbelievable Price.

    I own and use this mixer. I installed the X32 a little over a month ago, replacing a well-regarded 32-input, 4-bus analog mixer. I'm going on-record here to say "I love this mixer!" It was immediately apparent how much better the X32 sounds than my (not so) old analog desk. The openness, transparency, and clarity of the X32 were not subtle at all. But not cold-sounding either. It sounds like a blanket has been lifted off my loudspeakers. Digital mixers have come a long way these last few years, and the X32 is one of the finest and most pleasant-sounding mixers I've ever used at any price, but the X32 cost less than $3000.00! I suspect that Midas has contributed far more than just their name to this mixer. I picked up my X32 on Friday night after work and took it directly to my venue. In just a couple of hours I had swapped out my old mixer, set up the X32's I/O routing, set-up a basic 8-channel band mix (with channel-pairing, full dynamics, EQ, and Reverb) and was passing audio to my Mains, Monitors, and Matrix all without ever cracking the manual (there was a quick-start guide in the box, but I wanted to see how far I could get without using it... pretty far!). To be fair, I did end up having to download the full manual and spent several more hours later that evening at home, thoroughly scouring to find out how to do a handful of tasks like naming channels, creating bus groups, and mute groups, all of which just required pressing one more menu button that had eluded me earlier. The X32 has a feature set that is as good as or better than all of the equivalent current digital desks on the market. It is a 40 X 22 I/O frame, with 16 motorized channel faders on two pages controlling the 32-input-per-scene channel count. Any input can feed any channel. I/O routing is very flexible. There are 16 assignable XLR outputs fed by a true Main LCR, 16 Subgroups, 8 Matrix outputs, and 16 Auxiliary sends. There are also 8 DCA groups (really helpful!), all controlled by 8 faders on 4 pages. There are also 6 Mute groups (super handy!). 32 direct-outs and returns are available from the on-board USB 2.0 and FireWire I/O for multi-track recording, and playback, and there is an additional USB 2.0 I/O on the top for recording a L/R board mix or playing back MP3's. Great features. The on-board ethernet allows wireless remote operation of all of the major mixer functions from a PC or Mac, and there is an iPad app that allows remote basic level adjustment of channel/aux/and output levels. I really like this feature for quickly getting the monitors balanced on the stage and checking the mix around the room. Every input channel has a sweep-able Hi-Pass filter, a fantastic musical-sounding and very powerful 4-band fully-parametric EQ, and a great-sounding Gate/Compressor/Expander. Compared with an average FOH mix station with 8 channels of outboard Comp/Exp and maybe a dual-stereo MultiFX/Verb and four channels of 31-Band Graphic EQ, the X32 has literally 10 times this processing power on-board! No more compromising and having to choose which channels get dynamic control and what channels get discreet FX. Also, total recall means I can now store often-used channel, FX, and Routing set-ups in the X32 library for instant recall at a later date (guest artists that return often, etc.). The on-board effects I have used so far are the excellent Reverb, and the 31-Band Graphic EQ's on the Matrix and Aux outs. The Reverb is truly reminiscent of the PCM70 I used to use. Very true-to-life sounding and easy to dial in. The EQ's are based on Klark-Technic and they sound every bit as good as my (now unused) dbx 2031's, but are actually audibly less destructive when killing feedback (especially that pesky 8K ring). I really can go on-and-on about how this mixer has changed everything about my venue's sound quality and capability. If you are looking for a 32-Channel frame in a digital format that costs less than $16K this is the only available choice, currently. If you're shopping for an analog solution, considering the costs associated with outboard and patching, you would have a tough time purchasing even an average setup for less than the cost of the X32, and the results will be inferior. I highly recommend the Behringer X32 for anyone looking for a mid-size full-featured mixer under $10K. The performance/feature/value ratio is so far out of the park it's not fair. This mixer is a game-changer.

  • from EastcoastPC
    January 07, 2014

    Overall a nice bit of kit, Read review for Flying Fader Fix

    Had our desk now for over a year and in that time its done the job brilliantly. No point in harping on how good it is as there are loads of reviews telling you that. The only problem we have had is one of the faders started to be non-responsive so I took the desk apart to find out what was wrong. I've post a tutorial here [...] for anyone else with the same issue hopefully it will help

  • from David Walker
    January 23, 2013

    Game Changer!!!

    If Behringer was trying to make a statement, they made one with this. It doesn't even make logical sense to consider any other digital console under the $10,000 mark. I don't know where to start, this thing is a smaller version of a Midas console. They update the firmware and apps so much, it seems like you keep getting a new console every time they update. The ipad app is crazy!!!! The level of control and options that are in the console are equal that of aYamaha MC7L. If you are considering buying one, do it, I don't think Presonus & Yamaha have sold a board since this thing came out!!

  • from Gerald Giggs
    June 19, 2014

    What a great board

    I love this board. We use it at the church. We can save the settings for multiple bands. We were also able to offload the audio using 32 tracks to record on a computer. It can do so much and it is so much fun to run.

  • from Mainer
    December 27, 2012

    Owned for 3 weeks

    I have worked with numerous digital boards and I will say, this is very comparable to the sound of the Yamaha LS9 and M7CL. The effects are transparent and sound is smooth. Now when it comes to features, the Behringer has them beat by a long shot. The P16 monitoring system is fantastic and the 32 x 32 channels of recorded sound via firewire AND USB!! The scribble strips that can be assigned by color and you can name them anything you want. The faders don't feel quite as good as the Yamaha's, but I wouldn't say they are bad by any means. I used to be a Behringer hater and I mean hater, but I after seeing the reviews and getting the board for under 2600 just couldn't pass this one up for my studio use, and I was very glad I didn't! Looking forward to testing it live. I can't say that everything Behringer is good or even sounds good because most of them don't, but this board seems to have been built and designed by some other team - and I am not sure how much Midas has contributed. They did a great job and I am sold on this board. One other really nice feature was when I updated the board to the newest firmware, I just pit it on a USB memory stick, inserted into the board, powered on the board and it automatically installed. I didn't have do anything further. The software for operation on the laptop is great and is identical to what you can do on the board. I am looking forward to trying the IPAD feature as well to control the sound from different lcoations. Great board, great features, I can't wait until they give us the ability to upload different plug-ins for effects and modeling.

  • from Lee
    August 12, 2013

    The early results are excellent

    Now that I have had the X32 for a while and taken it on a number of gigs I want to update my review. I have had no problems with the mixer and I have come to rely on it as my main mixer. I now also have an X32 Rack too and have high hopes for it as well. The full size X32 allows for easy access to all of the functions of this fairly complicated mixer. The sound of the effects are professional quality and very pleasing to the ear. The feel, fit and finish are above where I have come to expect for a device in the price range. Behringer has impacted the entire market with the release of this console and the ripple effects are not even fully being felt yet. I look forward to more gigs on this mixer.

  • from Mike
    January 24, 2014

    Great Console

    We upgraded our church to the Behringer X32 roughly 10 months ago. My overall impression is Wow, this is a lot of board for $3000. We upgraded from an Allen & Heath Mixwizard3 16:2. As soon as we started patching instruments into the new board I could hear the difference in sound quality. The sound is much more crisp and clear running through the X32. This is probably due to the Midas designed pre-amps. Setup was a breeze. Just took out the old board, plugged all the I/O into the X32 and set the levels. This mixer is very easy to use the basics, but there is so much more you can do with it. It puts so much power at your fingertips with the dca's, subgroups, matrix mixes, 8 effects slots with many more effects options, and dynamics on each channel. I also love the scribble strips on the X32. Its so much easier to find my channels with the icon, name, and color code on each one. I can't imagine using a digital board without this after having this feature. We are also looking to expand our setup later using the S16 digital snake to run an additional 16 inputs and 8 outputs to the stage, using only 1 network cable. It couldn't be easier. One thing to note, upgrading the firmware can be tricky. I updated the firmware as soon as I received it, as I wanted to use the new version of XControl and it requires the newest firmware. I followed the instructions, put the update file on the root of a fat formatted usb stick, put it in the mixer and booted up. It did not update. I tried it with another stick... Same thing. I eventually browsed around on forums and found that for some reason you sometimes have to change the sample rate and reboot on the confirm. It then recognized the usb and updated. I'm really looking forward to trying out the 2.0 firmware. This adds features such as an RTA and additional effects. Pros - Motorized faders - Effects - DCAs - Mute groups - Dynamics - Scribble strips - Great mic pres Cons - firmware updates don't work like they're supposed to Now we just have to wait and see how this board holds up. I'm a little worried as I've heard many reports of behringer equipment not lasting long. But my initial impression is that this board is very well built. I will try to update my review further down the road to address reliability.

Reviews from the Press

Behringer X32 Mixer

Behringer X32 Field Test

The Whiskey A Go-Go: 50 Years of Rock and More, and Still Counting

Submit your review

characters left.